• 巴西Trombetas
    巴西Trombetas
  • 巴西Paragominas
    巴西Paragominas
  • 澳大利亚Weipa
    澳大利亚Weipa
213

矿业公司Mineração Rio do Norte (MRN)位于Pará的Trombetas,年铝土矿产能1800万吨,拥有1300名雇员。开采后的铝土矿以货船运输至位于Barcarena的Alunorte精炼厂处理。

链接 (英文)

海德鲁 - Trombetas

造林(1970-2000)

巴西Trombetas

Mineração Rio do Norte

MRN于1979年投入生产。该矿山位于Saracá-Taquera国家森林公园的边缘,是亚马逊雨林的组成部分。在开采铝土矿之前,首先将现有的植被清除。所有的清除工作都需要得到联邦环保部门ICMbio的准许。在关闭开采区的同时,MRN即启动重新造林工作,边开采边复垦的方法可追溯至1984年。

在总计25000公顷的范围内,MRN拥有开采权。迄今为止,开采土地面积已达7000公顷。在1979-2011年间,MRN完成再造林面积4460公顷,种植幼苗880万株。最早复垦的区域目前已经接近开采前地貌。

不过,要完全达到原有的地貌,尚需要很多年的时日。2011年2月,在一片10年以上的复垦区安置了蜂箱,以加速植被生长。除了增强授粉之外,蜂箱还为开采区附近的亚马逊居民带来了额外收益。从当地的物种中采集种子和种植幼苗,成为当地居民的收入来源。

采矿区的研究工作极为细致。自1997年以来,大约有50篇硕士论文和25篇博士论文研究复垦区的动植物群。

在复垦项目中,MRN总计采用了450种不同的植物群。今天,普遍采用的植物大约有120种,包括凤梨科和兰花科在内的附生植物。

收集的附生植物送往MRN的苗圃,之后分类和培育。自2001年以来,收集了涵盖123个物种的63000株附生植物:83种兰花,16种凤梨和24种天南星。数年以后,这些附生植物在复垦地种植,同时在复垦地也种植原有的树木种类。

• Trombetas
    Trombetas
    Brazil
  • Paragominas
    Paragominas
    Brazil
  • Weipa
    Weipa
    Australia
213

The mining company Mineração Rio do Norte (MRN) in Trombetas, Pará has an annual production capacity of 18 million metric tonnes of bauxite and has nearly 1,300 permanent employees. The bauxite is transported by barge to the Alunorte refinery in Barcarena.

Reforestation 1970 – 2000

Trombetas, Brazil

Mineração Rio do Norte

MRN started production in 1979. The mine is within the borders of the national forest of Saracá-Taquera which is a part of the Amazon rain forest. Before starting extraction of bauxite, the existing vegetation is cleared. Any clearance must be subject to approval from the federal environment authorities ICMbio. Reforestation starts as soon as a mining area is closed and was initiated at MRN in 1984.

The company owns the mining rights to in total 25,000 hectares, of which 7,000 are so far affected. Between 1979 and 2011, 4,460 hectares were reforested and 8.8 million seedlings planted. The oldest areas have reached a profile reminiscent of the original state.

Still, many more years are needed to reach a level that is fully sustainable. In February 2011 beehives were installed in the reforested areas older than 10 years in order to help accelerate the revegetation process. In addition to increased pollination, the beehives give an extra income to surrounding communities of traditional Amazon peoples. Also collection of seeds from local species and planting of the seedlings are sources of income for local communities.

The areas are thoroughly surveyed. Since 1997 about 50 Master’s theses and 25 PhD theses have studied the flora and fauna in the reforested areas.

MRN has in total used 450 different plant species in the rehabilitation programme. Today, around 120 different species are commonly used, including epiphytes like bromeliads and orchids.

The collected epiphytes are taken to MRN´s tree nursery, where they are classified and cultivated. Since 2001, more than 63 thousand epiphytes of 123 species have been collected: 83 species of orchids, 16 species of bromeliads and 24 species of Araceae. Years later, these epiphytes are reintroduced in the replanted forests taking into consideration the species of the tree from which it was removed.