• 澳大利亚Kwinana
    澳大利亚Kwinana
  • 牙买加Jamaica
    牙买加Jamaica
  • 爱尔兰Aughinish
    爱尔兰Aughinish
  • 澳大利亚Yarwun
    澳大利亚Yarwun
  • 格拉德斯通Gladstone
    格拉德斯通Gladstone
213

美铝的Kwinana氧化铝厂位于澳大利亚西部,Perth以南22km。

该厂于1963年投产,在过去的数年中,Kwinana一直在更新改造,目前氧化铝年产能超200万吨。今天,Kwinana雇佣1000名员工,同时还雇佣大量的合同工,其中大约60%的员工居住在Kwinana、Cockburn和Rockingham附近的城镇。

完工的Kwinana生物去除工艺
全规模氧化铝厂内的生物去除充气反应槽

澳大利亚Kwinana

美铝

美国铝业公司的全球冶炼研发团队使用自然产生的微生物消耗草酸的创新技术,荣获“澳大利亚政府工程创新奖”。该奖项是在2010年澳大利亚首都堪培拉举行的澳大利亚工程优秀奖颁奖礼上颁发。

铝土矿中的有机物在氧化铝精炼过程中形成草酸盐。有机物在苛性钠溶液溶解铝土矿时混入精炼液体。该有机物质在拜耳法工艺中被分解,形成以草酸钠为主的终产物。基于优化氧化铝生产和优质氧化铝的考量,该杂质需去除。为了防止最终积聚在精炼液体内,草酸钠以结晶的形式从液体沉淀出来。

直到最近,草酸钠才有了一些商业用途。草酸钠必须使用窑煅烧去除或存放在密封的蓄水池内。常规的窑工艺去除草酸钠具有很高的资金成本,要求使用烟道气RTO(再生热氧化剂)来控制排放。由于需要燃料,具有相对高的碳足迹。

1999年,总部设在美国铝业公司Kwinana氧化铝厂的美国铝业公司技术研发队开始研究利用自然产生的细菌,从精炼过程中除去草酸。在接下来的十年里,研发队确定了具体的碱耐受细菌,有效分解杂质, 同时创建了细菌高效作业的最佳条件。经过广泛的测试和试验工厂实践,工业规模工艺得以开发。

利用这项技术的第一个完整规模的工厂现在已经在西澳大利亚美铝的Kwinana氧化铝厂安装和运营。该厂已超过所有初始的性能指标,目前运营远高于设计产能。

新工艺,号称“连续的生物销毁草酸',针对草酸问题,是一个低成本并对环境友善的解决方案。该过程无需高温(40℃最高温度)具有非常低的排放水平。其过程本身排放很少,如果有的话,仅为二氧化碳。这个过程的温室足迹比传统窑工艺少约40%,这主要是由于低得多的燃料(能量)要求。虽然有机物的生物分解生成二氧化碳,液体流通过时快速矿化成无机碳酸盐和碳酸氢盐。该过程已被证明是非常有效的去除草酸盐。当前系统有足够的能力处理精炼厂产出的草酸钠,以及开发投产设备时临时存储的草酸盐。

美铝公司已将该技术推广至Pinjarra氧化铝厂,和得克萨斯州的Pt Comfort氧化铝厂,长期来看,该工艺可消耗掉美铝世界各地氧化铝厂每天近200吨的草酸,同时降低了能耗。

• Kwinana
    Kwinana
    Australia
  • Jamaica
    Jamaica
  • Aughinish
    Aughinish
    Ireland
  • Yarwun
    Yarwun
    Australia
  • Gladstone
    Gladstone
    Australia
213

Alcoa's Kwinana alumina refinery is located 45 kilometres south of Perth, Western Australia.

Opened in July 1963, the plant has been upgraded and improved over the years, and now has a production capacity of more than two million tonnes of alumina every year. Today, Kwinana employs about 1,000 people plus a significant contractor workforce, with approximately 60% of them living in the neighbouring townships of Kwinana, Cockburn and Rockingham.

Completed Bioremoval Plant Kwinana
One of the aerated Bioremoval tanks on the full scale plant

Kwinana, Australia

Alcoa

Alcoa’s global refining research and development team won the ‘Australian Government Engineering Innovation Award’ for innovative technology that uses naturally occurring microorganisms to consume oxalate. The award was presented at the 2010 Australian Engineering Excellence Awards which took place in Canberra, Australia.
 
Oxalate forms in the alumina refining process as a result of organic material in bauxite ore. Organics enter the refinery liquor stream when bauxite is digested in caustic soda. This organic matter is broken down as part of the Bayer process with sodium oxalate being the predominant end product. This is an impurity that must be removed for optimum alumina production and quality. To prevent an eventual build up in the liquor stream, sodium oxalate is precipitated from the liquor stream as a crystalline material for disposal.
 
Sodium oxalate has few commercial uses and, until recently, must be either destroyed using a kiln or stored in secure impoundments. The conventional kiln process for sodium oxalate removal has a high capital cost, requires a flue gas RTO (regenerative thermal oxidiser) to control emissions and has a relatively high carbon footprint due to the fuel required.
 
In 1999, scientists at Alcoa’s Technology Delivery Group, based at Alcoa’s Kwinana refinery, began researching the use of naturally occurring bacteria to remove oxalate from the refining process. Over the next decade the group identified the specific alkali tolerant bacteria that could efficiently break down the impurity and developed an understanding of the optimum conditions under which the bacteria were the most effective. Through extensive testing and pilot plant work, an industrial scale process was developed.
 
The first full scale plant utilising this technology has now been installed and commissioned at Alcoa’s Kwinana refinery in Western Australia. The plant has exceeded all the initial performance specifications and is now operating well above its design capacity.
 
The new process, known as 'continuous biological oxalate destruction', is a cost effective and environmentally friendly solution to the oxalate challenge. The process is non thermal (maximum temperature of 40°C) with very low emission levels, emitting very little, if any, carbon dioxide. The greenhouse footprint of this process is around 40% less than the traditional kiln process, primarily due to a much lower fuel (energy) requirement.  Although the biological breakdown of the organics generates carbon dioxide, this is quickly mineralised to inorganic carbonates and bicarbonates within the liquor stream passing through the process. The process has proven to be very efficient at destroying oxalate. The current system has sufficient capacity to treat both the refinery output of sodium oxalate together with the oxalate that was placed in temporary storage whilst the unit was being developed and commissioned.

Alcoa has since rolled out this technology to its Pinjarra refinery and at the PT Comfort Refinery in Texas, long-term, the process has the potential to consume all of the nearly 200 metric tonnes of oxalate removed each day by Alcoa refineries around the world, whilst also reducing energy usage.